Non-Government (Voting)

Timothy E. Johns (Chair) State of Hawai'i

Linda Paul (Vice Chair) Conservation

Kem Lowry (Secretary) *Citizen-at-Large*

Solomon Kaho'ohalahala Native Hawaiian Elder

Pelika Andrade Native Hawaiian

Rick Gaffney Recreational Fishing

Bill Gilmartin Research

Geoffrey Walker Commercial Fishing

Gail Grabowsky Education

Tammy Harp Native Hawaiian

Cindy Hunter Research

Richard Lee Ocean-Related Tourism

Don Schug Research

Vacant

Conservation

Jessica Wooley Conservation

Government (Non-Voting)

Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM

Allen Tom HIHW National Marine Sanctuary

David W. Laist Marine Mammal Commission

Michael Lesser National Science Foundation

Eric Roberts U.S. Coast Guard

Janice Fukawa U.S. Department of Defense

Kitty Simonds WESPAC

Matt Brown U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Hoku Ka'aekuahiwi-Pousima NOAA Fisheries PIRO Meeting July 10, 2017 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Teleconference

Meeting Minutes

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members Present: Linda Paul (Conservation, Vice-Chair); Don Schug (Research); Rick Gaffney (Recreational Fishing); Tim Johns (State of Hawai'i, Chair); Nakoa Goo (Alternate for Tammy Harp); Kem Lowry (Citizen-at-Large, Secretary); Carol Wilcox (Conservation Alternate for Vacant Seat); Bill Gilmartin (Research); Cindy Hunter (Research); Gail Grabowsky (Education)

Voting Members Absent: Pelika Andrade (Native Hawaiian); Geoffrey Walker (Commercial Fishing); Solomon Kaho'ohalahala (Native Hawaiian Elder); Jessica Wooley (Conservation); Richard Lee (Ocean-Related Tourism)

Non-Voting Members Present: Athline Clark (Office of National Marine Sanctuaries [ONMS] / Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument [PMNM]); Janice Fukawa (Department of Defense).

Non-Voting Members Absent: Michael Lesser (National Science Foundation); Allen Tom (Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary); Hoku Ka'aekuahiwi-Pousima (National Marine Fisheries Service [NMFS]); Matt Brown, (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service [FWS] National Wildlife Refuge System, Pacific Marine National Monuments); Eric Kingma (Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council [WPFMC]); Maria Carnevale (State of Hawai'i, Department of Land and Natural Resources [DLNR] Division of Aquatic Resources); David Laist (Marine Mammal Commission); Eric Roberts (U.S. Coast Guard [USCG]).

Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument Staff: Nicole Evans, David Swatland (ONMS-PMNM)

Members of the Public: Teresa Dawson (Environment Hawai'i)

II. ROLL CALL; REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA (JOHNS) Chair Tim Johns called the meeting to order. There were no changes to the published agenda.

Roll call followed. With ten voting members present, the Council has quorum and can take action.

III. ACTION ITEM- REVIEW OF LETTER (JOHNS)

Chair Johns reviewed the state of the letter and asked councilmembers for final comments. The letter comments on the seven criteria outlined in the Presidential Executive Order 13792 pertaining to monument designation or expansions under the 1906 Antiquities Act made since January 1, 1996.

RAC members discussed a need for a description of the Council and their purpose. This issue was resolved in the cover letter. Additional minor grammar revisions were resolved. The Council decided to remove some language from the letter regarding the expansion area. This language will be used in the public letter for EO 13795. Language about foraging habitat for seabirds was added to the letter.

RAC Action: The Council votes unanimously to accept the content of the letter. Chair Johns will signed the cover letter. Vice Chair Paul will submit on behalf of the Council.

OMNS Action: ONMS Staff will review final draft for formatting.

V. ADJOURNMENT The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 pm.