NORTHWESTERN HAWAIIAN ISLANDS CORAL REEF ECOSYSTEM RESERVE

RESERVE ADVISORY COUNCIL

Non-Government (Voting)

William Aila, Jr (Chair) State of Hawai'i

Linda Paul (Vice Chair)

Conservation

Rick Gaffney (Secretary)
Recreational Fishing

Pelika Andrade Native Hawaiian

Bill Gilmartin Research

Gail Grabowsky Education

Tammy Harp Native Hawaiian

Cindy Hunter Research

Solomon Kaho'ohalahala Native Hawaiian Elder

Richard Lee Ocean-Related Tourism

Kem Lowry
Citizen-at-Large

Don Schug Research

Geoffrey Walker
Commercial Fishing

Carol Wilcox Conservation Jessica Wooley

Conservation

Government (Non-Voting)

Matt Brown

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Athline Clark

Papahānaumokuākea MNM

Janice Fukawa

U.S. Department of Defense

Hoku Ka'aekuahiwi-Pousima NOAA Fisheries PIRO

Jessica Kondel

HIHW National Marine Sanctuary

Eric Roberts
U.S. Coast Guard

Kitty Simonds WESPAC

Vacant

Marine Mammal Commission

Vacant

National Science Foundation

Teleconference Meeting December 11, 2017 11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Teleconference

Meeting Minutes

ATTENDEES:

Voting Members Present: Linda Paul (Conservation, Vice-Chair); Don Schug (Research); Rick Gaffney (Recreational Fishing, Secretary); William Aila Jr. (State of Hawai'i, Chair); Tammy Harp (Native Hawaiian); Carol Wilcox (Conservation); Jean Kenyon (Research Alternate for Bill Gilmartin); Gail Grabowsky (Education); Solomon Kaho'ohalahala (Native Hawaiian Elder).

Voting Members Absent: Pelika Andrade (Native Hawaiian); Geoffrey Walker (Commercial Fishing); Cindy Hunter (Research); Jessica Wooley (Conservation); Richard Lee (Ocean-Related Tourism); Kem Lowry (Citizen-at-Large).

Non-Voting Members Present: Athline Clark (Office of National Marine Sanctuaries [ONMS] / Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument [PMNM]); Josh DeMello (Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council [WPFMC]).

Non-Voting Members Absent: Jessica Kondel (Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary); Hoku Kaʻaekuahiwi-Pousima (National Marine Fisheries Service [NMFS]); Matt Brown, (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service [FWS] National Wildlife Refuge System, Pacific Marine National Monuments); Eric Roberts (U.S. Coast Guard [USCG]); Vacant (National Science Foundation); Vacant (Marine Mammal Commission).

Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument Staff: Nicole Evans, Alyssa Miller (ONMS-PMNM).

Members of the Public: none.

II. ROLL CALL; REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA (AILA JR.)

Chair William Aila Jr. called the meeting to order. There were no changes to the published agenda.

Roll call followed. With nine voting members present, the Council has quorum and can take action.

III. ACTION ITEMS (AILA JR)

Review of bulletlists drafted by the Northwest Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve Advisory Council (RAC) and Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whales National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council (SAC) at the December 6, 2017 meeting. The bullstlists addressed main topics for a public comment on The Draft Hawaii-Southern California Test and Training Environmental Impact Statement/Overseas EIS and Executive Orders 13792 and 13795.

The Council votes unanimously to accept draft letter by the SAC and bulletlist from the December 6, 2017 Joint RAC/SAC meeting in order to draft a RAC letter on the Draft Hawaii-Southern California Test and Training Environmental Impact Statement/Overseas EIS. Councilmember s agreed to overall approach of the letter and RAC leadership will finalize. The letter will be submitted before the December 12, 2017 deadline. ONMS Staff will circulate the final letter and it will be available on the RAC website.

The Council reviews the bulletlist drafted at the December 6, 2017 Joint RAC/SAC meeting which will be used to create a joint comment letter from both the RAC and SAC on Executive Orders 13792 and 13795. The RAC and SAC will co-write a letter to ONMS Director John Armor in response to decision on Presidential Executive Orders 13792 and 13795 based to the approved bulletlist.

RAC Action: The Council votes unanimously to accept the bulletlists and draft letters based on these lists. Chair Aila Jr. will signed the cover letter. Secretary Gaffney will submit on behalf of the Council.

OMNS Action: ONMS Staff will review final draft for formatting.

V. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.