Non-Government (Voting)

 William Aila Jr. (Chair) State of Hawai'i
Linda Paul (Vice Chair) Conservation
Rick Gaffney (Secretary) Recreational Fishing
Solomon Kahoohalahala

Native Hawaiian Elder Halealoha Ayau

Native Hawaiian Pelika Andrade Native Hawaiian

Gail Grabowsky Education

Phil Fernandez Commercial Fishing Cindy Hunter Research

Don Schug Research Jean Kenyon Research Richard Lee Ocean-Related Tourism

Kanoe Morishige Conservation Audrey Newman Conservation Judith Cucco

Citizen-at-Large

Government (Non-Voting)

Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM Allen Tom Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whales NMS Hoku Kaaekuahiwi-Pousima NOAA Fisheries PIRO Brandon Jim On NOAA OLE Brad Kaaleleo Wong Office of Hawaiian Affairs Maile Norman U.S. Coast Guard Janice Fukawa U.S. Department of Defense Joshua DeMello WESPAC **Dan Polhemus** U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

- Ecological Services Jared Underwood U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service - Refuges Brian Neilson State of Hawai'i - DLNR

Meeting October 22, 2020 9:00am – 1:00pm Via GoToWebinar SUMMARY OF ACTION ITEMS

Brief Review & Summary of Previous Issues and Action Items (Clark)

- Fall Recruitment Applications due October 31 [update: ONMS is extending application period to November 15 to allow more time for additional interest]
 - Open seats include 7 alternate seats (3 Research, 1 Conservation, 1 Ocean-related Tourism, 1 Commercial Fishing, and 1 Native Hawaiian); and two Primary seats – 1 Research and 1 Education.

Actions/Decision-Making

RAC Resolution honoring members

Judith Cucco, Citizen-At-Large Representative, introduced the "Resolution Honoring Dr. Gail Grabowsky for Her Service on the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve"

• The Council unanimously voted to approve the Resolution.

Don Schug, Research Representative, introduced the "Resolution Honoring Dr. Cynthia "Cindy" Hunter for Her Service on the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve"

• The Council unanimously voted to approve the Resolution.

National Marine Sanctuary designation process next-steps

The council motioned and approved to form a writing team that will provide the council a draft letter to ONMS supporting moving forward with Sanctuary designation. This team will be meeting within the next month and presenting their recommendations to the full council at the December 9 meeting for a vote on the letter.

Note: The writing team is comprised of Linda Paul, Don Schug, Solomon Koohalahala and Halealoha Ayau.

Fall Meeting Date:

The next Reserve Advisory Council Meeting will be held on December 9, 2020

The council is an advisory body to the Reserve/NOAA Monument superintendent. The opinions and findings of this document do not necessarily reflect the position of the Reserve, the Monument, or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.