

## **Community Announcement**

May 15, 2020

Contact: Sarah Marquis, ONMS Pacific Islands Media Coordinator, <a href="mailto:sarah.marquis@noaa.gov">sarah.marquis@noaa.gov</a>
Jennifer Crawford, RAC Advisory Coordinator, <a href="mailto:Jennifer.crawford@noaa.gov">Jennifer.crawford@noaa.gov</a>

## NOAA's Northwestern Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve appoints new advisory council members

NOAA's Northwestern Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve announced three new primary members and two alternate members to serve on the Reserve Advisory Council. The appointees bring a valuable range of experience to the council, a community-based body that provides NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries staff with input and recommendations on programs and management.

"Community representatives on our advisory council are an extremely important part of our team," said Athline Clark, NOAA's superintendent for Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument. "Their input is an integral part of managing this special place."

Newly appointed advisory council members are:

- Audrey Newman, Conservation Primary
- Edward Halealoha Ayau, Native Hawaiian Primary
- Phil Fernandez, Commercial Fishing Primary
- Kanoe Morishige, Research Alternate
- Thorne Abbott, Conservation Alternate

For information on newly appointed members, visit https://www.papahanaumokuakea.gov.

Established in 2001, the Reserve Advisory Council provides advice and recommendations to NOAA's Office of National Marine Sanctuaries. The council is composed of nine government and 14 non-governmental representatives. Serving in a volunteer capacity, the council members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public. Reserve Advisory Council primary and alternate members serve three-year terms and meet four times per year in public sessions.

###